Surprise! Surprise!

May 22, 2009

 

 

American School Bus

American School Bus

God totally took me by surprise today.  I counted up and I just finished a school year at my 7th school. I know, crazy for someone to have changed schools so many times right.  I have never heard of a teacher like me before and I wonder what in the world I am doing or supposed to be doing rather. LOL.  Anyway,  I did not know it but this school’s tradition on the last day was for all the teachers to stand outside and wave bye to all the kids on the buses.  I have never done this before so it was a new thing:)  During this excitement, I not only realized that I was waving bye to the best class that I had ever taught but also to American public schools.  I am not saying this in a derogatory way or that I will never teach in them again but it was a sweet, bitter, somewhat patriotic thing.  To me, it was heart moving that I was able to see sooo many kids of the same ages all leave school on the bus together and it was sooo cool to see a faculty united together in cheering them on but also to see that this maybe my first and last time to see all Americans kids riding on the big yellow bus from school.  I felt honored and special to have been able to experience that moment.  For me, it maybe a once in a lifetime ! 

Comments are closed.

